Outreachy: Week eight

Outreachy: Week eight

In my previous article, I discussed some of the new skills I have gained so far during my Outreachy internship with Wagtail CMS. These skills are asynchronous communication and open collaboration. I also shared the task I completed and the challenges I faced while working on it.

In this article, I share the task I accomplished this week, my highlight of the week, and my next goal regarding Wagtail.

Week eight in review

As the Wagtail User Guide documentation project nears completion, this week marks another important milestone. I have finished writing the main sections of the User guide documentation. These sections include the How-to guides section and the Concepts section.

The work on these two sections hasn't been without its challenges. Among these challenges is finding the right resource materials to help understand how some Wagtail features work. It's important to document these features, as without them, the User guide documentation remains incomplete. You may be wondering how I overcame this challenge. Well, my mentors, particularly Storm and Thibaud, helped me overcome the challenge.

My highlight of the week

Yay! My first in-person user research interview took place this week.

I experienced a mix of emotions while doing this. In the days leading up to the interview, I was anxious and unsure if I would be able to succeed. However, with Thibaud's assistance, I overcame this feeling during the interview. The interview began with him asking questions, and I then took over. I’m also fortunate that Meagen who is a community manager at Torchbox and Wagtail is the interviewee.

The week ahead

My next goal is to learn the core programming language and framework of the Wagtail CMS, which are Python and Django. In the coming week, I will begin my learning by practising Python's fundamentals.

Read more about my Outreachy internship experience with Wagtail in my ongoing series of articles.