Outreachy: Week twelve

Outreachy: Week twelve

As the end of my Outreachy internship with Wagtail draws nearer, my focus has been on understanding the core technologies of the Wagtail CMS. As of yet, this has involved learning a new programming language and completing numerous programming tasks.

In last week's article, I shared with you some challenges I faced while learning the core technologies used in building the Wagtail CMS, particularly the Django web framework. In this week’s article, I share with you how far I’ve gone with my learning of Django and the tasks I've completed.

Week twelve in review

I've made more progress learning the Django web framework. It took me a little while to understand how the framework works, especially its structure and syntax.

To facilitate my learning, I completed the fourth programming task given to me by my mentors. The task builds upon the third programming task I completed earlier. The task required me to create a Django route and view that checks the URL and automatically redirects a URL request for a non-existent Wagtail version to the homepage.

After completing the fourth programming task, I am glad to inform you that I’m now able to set up a simple Django project with multiple applications. I can do this without consulting any of my learning resources. This took a lot of practice and debugging.

Also, I started the programming challenge given to me by one of my mentors, Storm. The challenge is to build a web library application with Django. The application should display a list of books. Each of these books should have an author, a title, and an ISBN (International Standard Book Number). Also, clicking on the book should take the user to a page that displays the details and a short overview of the book. Additionally, users of the website should be able to search for any book by its author, title, or ISBN.

The week ahead

In the coming week, I’m going to continue learning the Django web framework by completing the programming challenge given to me by Storm. In addition, I plan to curate the ideas that I want to work on for the Wagtail project after my Outreachy internship ends.

Read more about my Outreachy internship experience with Wagtail in my ongoing series of articles.