Outreachy: Week nine

Outreachy: Week nine

It has been nine weeks since I began my Outreachy internship with Wagtail CMS. So far, I have been working on the user guide documentation. The Wagtail user guide documentation explains how users can manage their content using the various features of the CMS.

Last week, I shared with you the task I worked on as regards the user guide documentation project of Wagtail CMS. By the end of the week, I had conducted two user research interviews with the help of my mentor, Thibaud.

This week's article explains how I'm working towards my new goal regarding the Wagtail CMS project.

Week nine in review

After taking a break from programming for over 2 months to focus on my Outreachy internship project, I resumed it this week.

My mentors decided that it would be in my best interest to do some programming tasks before the end of my Outreachy internship with Wagtail CMS. This is because, after Outreachy, some of my mentors may not be available to guide me towards understanding the programming aspects of Wagtail.

The Wagtail CMS is a Python and Django-based project. Python is its core programming language, while Django is the framework. This is the first time I've used this language and framework.

To get started correctly, I used the entire week to learn the fundamentals of Python by reading the Python official documentation and also solving some CodeWars challenges. Fortunately, the Python programming language is similar to JavaScript, a programming language I’m already proficient in. Because of this, I was able to solve some of the challenges quickly.

I also solved a coding challenge given to me by one of my mentors, Storm.

The week ahead

In the coming week, I have the same task as I had this week. There is still a lot to learn in Python before I can move on to learn the Django framework. So I will continue with reading the Python documentation and solving Python challenges on Codewars.

Read more about my Outreachy internship experience with Wagtail in my ongoing series of articles.