Outreachy: Week six

Outreachy: Week six

In case you are yet to follow my weekly publications, this article is the sixth of a series of articles detailing my Outreachy internship experience with Wagtail.

Last week, I shared with you three features that I find interesting about the Wagtail Content Management System(CMS). My belief is that you may also find one or more of those features helpful to you or your organization. Also, I shared with you the task I accomplished and gave an insight into this week’s task.

Week six in review

I'm quite pleased with my productivity this week. Even though it is only Thursday, I have already completed all my scheduled tasks for the week. Additionally, I’m happy because completing this week’s task marks a new milestone towards completing my official Outreachy project: Improve the user guide documentation for Wagtail CMS.

This week, I completed the revamping of the existing content of the Wagtail user guide documentation. My major improvement to the existing content of the user guide documentation is its structure. By reworking the structure of the user guide, I made it reflect the architecture of the Admin interface. This makes it easier for users to follow the user guide. Also, it makes it easier for users to find the necessary information.

The Admin interface is the official name given to the Wagtail portal from which you can manage your content and perform other non-code operations.

This week's task was a great experience for me. By working on this task, I was able to gain a better understanding of the Wagtail CMS and some of its features.

The week ahead

The following are my tasks for next week:

  • Analyze the user research survey results and write a report. In this way, I’m able to determine which interview questions to focus on and the new ones to add.

  • Work on drafting new content for the undocumented features of the Admin interface.

  • Work on drafting a new Concepts section to aid in understanding the Wagtail user guide documentation.