Outreachy: Week two

Outreachy: Week two

This article is the second of a series of articles detailing my Outreachy internship experience with Wagtail.

In last week's article about my Outreachy experience, I presented a brief background of myself along with my core values. Additionally, I provided a list of the tasks I completed.

In truth, I did a lot last week and I’m very proud of how seriously I have taken this internship. This has to be so, as this is an opportunity for me to improve my current skills and learn new ones.

Week two in review

The week began with me providing my mentors, Jonny, Storm, and Coen, with an overview of the tasks I had completed and those I was working on. After reviewing the tasks together, we filtered out the ones that were still uncompleted. We moved the uncompleted tasks to the top of my list for the week.

Also, we decided to convert the tasks in GitHub projects to issues. This way, the project will be more open to the Wagtail community at large and also make it easier for others to keep track of my progress.

This week, I completed the following tasks:

  • Conducted a gap analysis of the user guide documentation. A gap analysis is an assessment of a product's weaknesses. It is usually done by comparing the current state of the product with its expected state. After the comparison, any shortfall is usually considered a gap.

  • Drafted survey questions and assembled them into a Google form. The survey will help me gauge Wagtail users' opinions about the current state of the user guide documentation. Reviewing the survey responses and user interviews will help me better understand the expectations of Wagtail users.

My highlight of the week

This week, my peak moment of excitement was when I presented to the Wagtail core team. The core team leads Wagtail development as well as the subteams within the organization. Its members represent agencies and organizations from all around the world. So, yes, you can guess how exciting it must have been to present to this extraordinary team.

The purpose of my presentation was to provide an overview of the progress made in the user guide documentation project. I also presented arguments to support some of my preferences. This is regarding the choice of a writing style guide as well as whether to use American or British spelling style in the documentation.

The week ahead

It's becoming apparent that I won't be able to wait for the completion of the user research before moving on to other tasks. I shared this view with Thibaud, one of my mentors. We decided to continue working on the user research while also working on other tasks. This means I must remain open-minded. The reason for this is that I may have to adjust the tasks once I have completed the user research.

In the coming week, I'll be working on drafting the content outline for the user guide documentation project. I will also be writing a comprehensive report about the current state of the user guide. My next article will provide you with updates on these tasks.