Outreachy: Week three

Outreachy: Week three

I can't believe we’re only two days away from Christmas. There's no doubt that you're all happy to finally have a holiday where you can celebrate and have some fun. You probably think the same about me, too. Oh well, I'm sorry to disappoint you. It’s not the same for me. My schedule for this holiday appears to be the busiest I've ever experienced.

Week three in review

The week started slower than I thought. My mentors were busy making sure the survey form I worked on earlier got to the right people. Due to this, we did not have the opportunity to meet for as long as we usually do. For the team, it is very important to complete the survey. It’s one of the three user-research methods the team is deploying to better understand the expectations of Wagtail users. Interviews and screening are the other two methods.

The survey aids in understanding the macro expectations of Wagtail users, while the interview aids in understanding their micro expectations. Screening the responses from both user-research methods ensures that the team analyzes the responses in the right way. Also, it helps close the error gap.

This week, I completed two tasks:

  • Completed the first draft of the content outline proposal.

  • Read the documentation for the Diátaxis framework the second time and researched some open-source documentation projects that follow the structure encouraged by the framework. This way, I will gain insight into what structure the Wagtail user guide documentation should assume.

The week ahead

This week, I fell short of meeting my targets. The user research still requires a lot of work, while the content outline proposal task still requires a lot of reviews. Additionally, I am unable to start the second major scheduled task for the week. This is regarding writing a report on the current state of the user guide. Hence, I’m three tasks behind schedule.

I hope to discuss how I can complete some of these tasks as soon as possible with my mentors during our next meeting. My goal is to finish the content outline proposal by the weekend and then continue with the rest next week.

Read more about my Outreachy internship experience with Wagtail in my ongoing series of articles.