Outreachy: The contribution period

Outreachy: The contribution period

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

The 8th of October 2022 was a memorable day for me. I received the email after refreshing my inbox many times. The most comforting part was the introductory statement, "Welcome to the contribution period of the Outreachy December 2022 internship round." You might be wondering what Outreachy is. It is a program that supports underrepresented people in the tech industry. It does so by providing paid remote internships in open source and open science.

The joy of receiving the mail soon faded. "It is the contribution stage," I told myself. This stage allows you to contribute to projects that interest you. To qualify for the internship, you must make at least one contribution to a project of your choice.

My goal is to use the internship to develop my writing skills. Choosing a writing project to work on was not as easy as I thought. After going through the list of projects, a project on Wagtail stood out to me. In case you have not heard of Wagtail, it is an open-source CMS built on Django.

As a result of my experience using a CMS, I became interested in Wagtail. The user guide of the CMS I used was out of date. Due to this, completing the project on time was challenging.

As expected, it took some time to get started. This is due to the fact that Wagtail is written in Python, a language I am not familiar with.

So far, I have made seven contributions to Wagtail. Out of the seven, I am most proud of the following three:

  1. Got five versions of Wagtail's docs to be on Dash and Zeal offline docs. Screenshot showing pull request to update wagtail docs to Dash and Zeal offline docs
  2. Improved the "Getting Started Tutorial" to help users new to Django.
  3. Fixed a wrong image in the "Getting Started Tutorial."

Working on Wagtail has been gainful. The mentors have also been as helpful as they can be. My experience while contributing to the project has made me realise the following:

  • I need to get used to learning and using new tools and software for documentation.
  • I need to improve on the use of markdown.
  • I need to learn how to ask the right questions at the right time.
  • I need to improve my collaboration skills.
  • I need to Improve on the use of Git and GitHub.
  • There is a lot more to open source than I thought.

Finally, Wagtail is one of the most welcoming open-source communities I've ever been a member of. If you want to get started with open-source, it is a great place to start.